Alexander Technique Canada
The Canadian Society of The Alexander Technique

Meet canstat

What We Do

The Canadian Society of Teachers of the F.M Alexander Technique (CANSTAT) is a Canadian not-for-profit corporation that leads efforts to support the Alexander Technique across Canada.


Founded in 1981, CANSTAT maintains Canadian standards for Alexander Technique teacher training, membership, and practice. In addition, CANSTAT fosters affiliation with similar Alexander Technique credentialing bodies worldwide; promotes public awareness, understanding, and access to the Alexander Technique; and furthers Alexander Technique research and professional development. 

Mission and Vision

To support the Alexander Technique to become a continuously developing, healthy profession in Canada.  One with an open, sharing, collaborative culture of teachers whose work is recognized by the public, and health, education, and arts organizations as: A modern, powerful, and practical approach that enhances health and well-being; an essential aspect of artistic training and performance across Canada; a source of further discovery for the full embodiment and development of human potential.


CANSTAT is an educational, nonsectarian, nondiscriminatory organization. CANSTAT is a member of the Alexander Technique Affiliated Societies (ATAS) and upholds the values and by-laws shared and agreed upon between ATAS organizations worldwide.

Executive Council and Board of Directors

The executive Council of CANSTAT is a volunteer board that oversees all operation and acts as it's official board of directors:

President and Co-director: Gabriella Minnes Brandes

Secretary and Co-director: Heather Walker

Treasurer and Co-director: Mark Vasak

Committees and Representatives

CANSTAT volunteer committees and representatives are an essential support that further the foundation and reach of the Alexander Technique in Canada and beyond. (In alphabetical order)

Professional Conduct Committee
Heather Campbell, Johanna Godliman, and Marta Hunter

Teacher Training Committee
Brigitte Caron, Elaine Kopeman, Gabriella Minnes Brandes, and Marta Hunter

Professional Development Representative:
Helene Bellemare

Public Relations Representative
Alison Taylor

Insurance/ RES Representative
Hélène Bellemare, and Sarah Russell

Technology Representative
Michael Mah and Mark Vasak

Alexander Technique Affiliated Societies (ATAS) Representative
Mark Vasak

Special Thanks...

CANSTAT has a rich history of volunteers.  Although many are not recognized here due to loss of historical documentation, the following people deserve special thanks for service to CANSTAT and the Alexander Technique in Canada:

(*In alphabetical order)
(*Please check back soon, this list is being updated!)

Bob Schweitzer, David Owen, Elaine Kopman, Emily Sun, Gabriella Minnes Brandes, Gary Labovitz, Heather Campbell, Howard Bockner, Johanna Godliman, Lawrence Smith, Malcolm Balk, Marta Hunter, Mei Lee, Nancy Sicsic, Pat Daniels, Paula Althouse, Simon Ghiberti, Steven Glassman, Wilma Mosmans, and many more...